Total Newbee trying to find a amp to do! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st October 2003, 03:09 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Total Newbee trying to find a amp to do!

Hello,
I'm trying to find a amp to do, Id like to build a small amp of about 2 x 20watt @ 4ohm or maybe lower impedance if possible
To give you an idea of what I want and what I could do! (please don't laugh out loud! lol):

Here a page with different easy to get kits:
http://www.canakit.com/Contents/Divisions/Div_4.asp

Here a small kit I seen!
http://www.canakit.com/Contents/Items/CK194.asp

I know they are cheap and have probably a bad sound...

I'm canada and Id like a kit, I don't mind to built a power suply section (with transfo, diode and caps) (and I maybe preffer it!)
I don't mind how they will sound! and I just want some bad 20 to 40watt!
The most important is that the kit is easy to get in canada!
I seen some nice kit from selectronic in France but they are harder to get.

Also I'd like to know if it's possible to bridge amplifier like the one show in the kit...
It's a 16watt x 2 @ 4ohm and 12watt @ 8ohm
So maybe I could get 32watt @ 2 ohm, 24watt @ 4ohm and 12 @ 8ohm by putting 2 kit in parrallel,
If I use diferents volume control like stereo ones by channel?

I know that I can seem fool but everybody began somewhere and this post is not a joke!

Tanks to any anwser or kit recomandation!
Old 1st October 2003, 08:15 AM   #2
Nuuk is offline Nuuk  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

If you really are just starting out and want to build something successfully, stick to a simple (not bridged) inverted design like the one described fully on my Gainclone Pages at Decibel Dungeon.

You should find the FAQ page particularly useful.