So how much does a Gainclone cost to build anyway? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th September 2003, 04:23 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default So how much does a Gainclone cost to build anyway?

Okay, so I am a poor college student looking for a project to do over Christmas. The gainclone is really starting to look nice, but I can't seem to find a thread that gives a rundown of the cost of parts to build one! (Chips, PSU, connectors, etc). I know I'm a newbe at this, and I will only have about 3 weeks to put together a amp that will be in a condition where I can take it back to school w/o tweaking--just woundering if anyone has any opinions on this goal?

P.s. I also want to build a gainclone because I have a really nice design for a case--Oak and Glass on black velvet!
Old 27th September 2003, 04:25 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Peter Daniel
You can built one for $50, or you can built one for $500. It's up to you to decide on a budget.
“Do something really well. See how much time it takes. It might be a product, a work of art, who knows? Then give it away cheaply, just because you feel that it should not cost so much, even if it took a lot of time and expensive materials to make it.” - JC
Old 27th September 2003, 04:31 PM   #3
JoeBob is offline JoeBob  Canada
diyAudio Member

I've you're not including the price for your case it can be very cheap (oak and glass sounds nice though). But often the case costs a large portion of the total cost, so if you don't already have the oak and glass that'll bring the cost up.