So how much does a Gainclone cost to build anyway?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Okay, so I am a poor college student looking for a project to do over Christmas. The gainclone is really starting to look nice, but I can't seem to find a thread that gives a rundown of the cost of parts to build one! (Chips, PSU, connectors, etc). I know I'm a newbe at this, and I will only have about 3 weeks to put together a amp that will be in a condition where I can take it back to school w/o tweaking--just woundering if anyone has any opinions on this goal?

P.s. I also want to build a gainclone because I have a really nice design for a case--Oak and Glass on black velvet!

I've you're not including the price for your case it can be very cheap (oak and glass sounds nice though). But often the case costs a large portion of the total cost, so if you don't already have the oak and glass that'll bring the cost up.

Peter is right though, it can be cheap or expensive, and for sure the $500 amp isn't 10 times better than the $50 amp, but it will probably be better in some respects. But when you get into more expensive "gainclones" I feel that most of the extra costs are going towards fancy enclosures for them. Which some may argue that they provide better sonics (our friend Peter here advocates so) others may be willing to pay the price solely for good looks.

So it can cost alot, but don't think it has to cost alot to sound amazing...

Nice case is probably a driving force (in some cases) to built a GC. What I learned so far is that the least complex case gives best results. So if your GC doesn't have to look fancy, use a chunk of metal (be it aluminum or copper) and attach everything to it and use a sort of spike support and this will probably produce the most acurate sound from your amp. Adding additional panels and building it up only complicates matters and veils the sound.