DC offset and gain on GC LM3886

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
first of all i must admit i am new in the DIY thing (but i love it already). With to much time on my hand i decided to build a GC with the LM3886 dual mono kit from chip amp.com.
because of my little problem with concentrating reading is not a hobby an because of my trembling hands soldering is not either.....

But i managed to put it al together you can see the pics here..https://picasaweb.google.com/Xerxes75/GaincloneLM3886

i must say a few tears where there when it turned on.....it worked. i do however have slight problem.
the DC offset with the volume down is one side -32mV and on the other side -22mV? This DC thing is new for me so if anybody can turn the light on for me..please.

and then there is the massive volume! it plays with the volume slightly on very, VERY loud!. (turn down the volume on my iMac to play at a sensible volume)

the DC offset with the volume complete on is off the scale...

besides the kit there are two 225 2x25v toroids (gives 27.1v) on the rail i measure 37.8v (both sides) the source is my iMac with hrtII streamer.

Recheck that you have all components in the right places and that the resistors are values that match the schematics (that I assume were sent with the kit).

If you don't want it so loud you can do one of two things. Put a log scale potentiometer on the input as a volume knob, or reduce the amp's gain by changing one or both of the resistor values shown on the schematic between the chip's output and its inverting input, they form a voltage divider that determines gain. This is detailed in the LM3886 datasheet linked below.