Velleman K8066 HELP!!! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th January 2012, 03:52 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Velleman K8066 HELP!!!

Im new to the audio hobby but i had put together a velleman k8066 amplifier chip everything is soldered properly but the sound coming from my speaker is sounding distorted. I have a 9volt battery hooked up to it as the power supply. In the book its says power supply between 6 and 15vdc. One last question is there any way to build like a tube or something so that my speaker will sound louder?
Old 15th January 2012, 08:29 PM   #2
Minion is offline Minion  Canada
diyAudio Member

Well , the amp only does 3w at 10% THD with a 15v DC supply so with a 9v supply you will do less than 2w at 10% THD so depending on your speaker you might have to push the amp pertty hard to get it loud and at full power it will be fairly distorted ......

I would suggest trying a 15v DC supply which will give you a bit more headroom and output power and if it is still not loud enough or too distorted you could try a more sensitive speaker , otherwize a more powerfull amp will be needed ......

Good luck
Old 15th January 2012, 08:43 PM   #3
! is offline !  United States
diyAudio Member

Note on the kit details it lists 500mA max current consumption. A mere 9V battery cannot supply enough current and the power rail voltages will collapse. You might have better results with a "battery" consisting of 8 x AA NiMH cells in series. 9V battery (PP3 form factor) isn't suitable for powering much more than a headphone amp.