LM3886 troubleshooting help needed for newbie - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd January 2012, 01:27 PM   #1
franke is offline franke  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default LM3886 troubleshooting help needed for newbie

Hi all,

This is my first attempt to build something like this, I have only put together some small kits before and nothing to do with audio.

I have put everything together now but I need help fixing it. I checked the power supply and it's ok, get the correct voltage out. I connected some speakers to the amp, the selector works, volume pot is good and I get good audio out from the right channel. The left amp is silent though. If I only connect the left speaker I can hear something very weak coming through only, otherwise it's near silent.

I need help troubleshooting that amp pcb to find out where it goes wrong. I'm not sure how to check the components or what else otherwise to check. The solder joints look ok to me but obviously it goes wrong somewhere.

I have taken some pictures of the whole thing, please let me know what other info you would want me to post. All help is appreciated here. It would be fantastic to be able to finish this great project. I have learned a lot and it would be great if I could get it working as I feel I'm very close now.

One thing I can tell you is when I check DC output on the left out while source is connected I get a steady DC out, something like -5 mV, I think. I can check again.

All pics here
Old 2nd January 2012, 01:52 PM   #2
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

-5mVdc is very acceptable for an output offset.
It probably indicates that there is no serious error that could damage your chip nor your PSU, nor your speaker.