Chip amp to power surround sound satellites? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th December 2011, 01:58 AM   #1
JGAN is offline JGAN  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Chip amp to power surround sound satellites?

Hey guys,
I'm a total newbie to the audiophile world. I just got a Bose Lifestyle 25 Series II 5.1 surround sound system. The room I set it up in does not have any carpet or anything to cover up the wires running to the rear satellites, so I want to make them wireless. This is my setup to do so:
Bass module->Composite transmitter->Composite receiver->Amp->Satellites

The transmitter and receiver I'm using is the Terk Leapfrog. Because the satellites are passive and the receiver sends out a line-level signal (I believe, and if my terminology is correct), the satellites aren't producing any sound. My solution is just to stick an amp of some sort between the receiver and satellite, along with a fuse to prevent blowing out the satellites.

My main question is what sort of amp do I need? I was looking at class-d and class-t chip amps, but the TDA2030A caught my eye. I know that one is class-AB. Also, Bose doesn't divulge much information on their products, but this is what I have been able to gather so far on the satellites using my multimeter:
Resistance: ~6-7 ohms
Voltage from bass module @ C8 (4186.01hz): 1.118v
RMS ( voltage*voltage / resistance ): .18w-.21w

There is also this specification sheet I found. It's not the exact model, but the Lifestyle 25 satellites are basically just two of the FreeSpace 3 stacked on top of each other.

Also, I was looking at other manufacturer's RMS for satellites, and they range from 8w-15w. Some of them also say the "recommended preamplifier power," 10w-100w.