First time Chip Amp Builder Question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th December 2011, 06:40 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default First time Chip Amp Builder Question

I hope this is not a stupid question but this is my first build and I got the mono amplifiers from chipamp.com. I was planning on purchasing the torid from apex jr. Looking at the pictures all seems clear using the 4 diodes rather than the 8 but what does not seem clear to me is when hooking up the power supply to the amp board do I only hook up the V+ and the V-. Meaning the connection from amp board to power supply of the PG+ and PG- do not get hooked up. I did do connections on power supply board PG+ to PG- and D6 to D7 and D2 to D3. What all this stuff does is kind of foreign to me. I do have soldering skills from building numerous loudspeakers over the last 15 years. So I do somewhat understand what capacitors and resistors do. I have put the boards all together I am getting ready to purchase the torid from apex jr. within the next week. From what I think I have learned is to get them hooked up and working before thinking about enclosure which I plan to do. I would like to get a little assurance before I get to point of plugging them into wall. I have multi meter and do plan on doing measurements recommended before they get plugged in. I am taking it a step at a time and trying to not get ahead of myself. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 27th December 2011, 11:39 AM   #2
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

first.
download the build guide.
second.
build a bulb tester and learn how to use it, interpret what it tells you and always use it every time you start up a new or modified mains powered project.
third.
Build and test in stages.