Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th September 2003, 01:51 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default So is a DIY a good idea for me? 5 channel HT

Hi all I am a poor college student (nothing new here). Here is the situation. I am getting ready to get rid of my cheapass receiver and get a proper sound system. I want great 2 channel sound and good surround sound (for movies and maybe SACD in the future). Before I heard about gainclone I was leaning towards a Harmon/Kardon Sig2 amp or Marantz MA 500 monoblocks. Both for about $500 (on ebay) . This is a little more then I would like to spend, but I am willing to pay for quality. After seeing this site I am wondering if there are any DIY 5 channel amps that I should look into before going the commercial route. I am woundering if a DIY amp over christmass break is something that I should consiter.

I have been building little things for a long time, but I am not eletronics expert outside of putting togother ramsey kits.
Old 8th September 2003, 02:20 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

The H/K Amp I am thinking about: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=14973
Old 8th September 2003, 02:48 PM   #3
JCoffey is offline JCoffey  United States
diyAudio Member

It depends on what you're looking for. Are you looking to be able to build something yourself, or are trying to save some money? I dont think a GC will match a ready made amp for wattage, but, there's nothing like building it yourself.