So is a DIY a good idea for me? 5 channel HT

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all I am a poor college student (nothing new here). Here is the situation. I am getting ready to get rid of my cheapass receiver and get a proper sound system. I want great 2 channel sound and good surround sound (for movies and maybe SACD in the future). Before I heard about gainclone I was leaning towards a Harmon/Kardon Sig2 amp or Marantz MA 500 monoblocks. Both for about $500 (on ebay) . This is a little more then I would like to spend, but I am willing to pay for quality. After seeing this site I am wondering if there are any DIY 5 channel amps that I should look into before going the commercial route. I am woundering if a DIY amp over christmass break is something that I should consiter.

I have been building little things for a long time, but I am not eletronics expert outside of putting togother ramsey kits.

It depends on what you're looking for. Are you looking to be able to build something yourself, or are trying to save some money? I dont think a GC will match a ready made amp for wattage, but, there's nothing like building it yourself.
You wont save any money building your own, and may end up spending more, depending on what you use. I've ordered 5 LM1875's for a HT amp, for the bedroom or PC, but I probably wouldnt even use the 3875's for HT, since they're only gonna have 50 watts at most unless they're bridged, so they're going into a 4 channel amp for Bi-amping.

2 is betther than 5?

Hi Mike,

You wont save any money building your own, and may end up spending more, depending on what you use.
I very much share this opinion.