LM1875 Ground issue - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th July 2011, 10:06 PM   #1
Havoxx is offline Havoxx  United States
diyAudio Member

Default LM1875 Ground issue

Ok, so I've finally had the time to try to build an 1875T chipamp for a PC subwoofer, and I'm having a bit of an issue, I think it may be ground related, I'm still pretty new to this, but it's distorted quite a bit, and I can't seem to figure out what it could be. I'm using this schematic, I can't seem to figure it out, I'm using a 15v supply, as I don't want too much bass(in an apartment).
Attached Images
File Type: gif t5.gif (3.7 KB, 276 views)
Old 30th July 2011, 10:19 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

make sure you did not swap polarity on input cable...
Old 30th July 2011, 10:35 PM   #3
Bone is offline Bone  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Is that 15 - 0 - 15v or only 15v between + & - ?
Old 30th July 2011, 10:40 PM   #4
gootee is offline gootee  United States
diyAudio Member

It might be clipping.

What is your maximum peak input voltage? Your gain is about 33.4 [(R2 + R3) / R2], which seems a little high. Even if the amp could swing to the +/-15v rails (which it can't), your max input level could only be +/- 0.45 Volts.

What is your load (speaker) impedance?

With +/-15v supply, you can only expect to get a maximum of about 9.5 Watts output. Watts = V squared over R. So, for an 8 Ohm speaker, 10 Watts would mean 8.71 V RMS max output which for a sine wave would be +/- 12.33 V peak, so your gain of 33.4 would imply a max input peak of roughly +/- 0.37 Volts.

If your speaker is 4 Ohms, 9.5 Watts would imply 6.16 V RMS max output or roughly +/- 0.26 Volts max input peak.