Ambitious Noob looking for advice.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, first off I am a noob, and I realise the best advice for this whole idea may well be "don't do it" but I'm gonna put myself out there anyway. BTW before I start, this post could get long. Also I'll apologise up front for any nonsense I may speak, go easy I've probably just misinterpreted something I've read.

I have a bit of a hankering to build an amp/pre-amp/speakers/entire hifi setup. While I realise this is not a cheap enterprise I do do intend to build it over a period of time and build up an entire system. First off, if possible I would prefer to avoid using kits, I'll get much more satisfaction building the entire thing myself. (Though I don't mind using schematics from others lol).

The source is going to be an audigy2 zs souncard in my HTPC, and eventually I want to build the equipment to amplify all 6 channels of a 5.1 surround setup. However I'd like to start smaller and build a 3 channel amp for 2.1 and then add a second 3 channel amp at a later date for the 3 rear channels.

The idea at the minute is to build 3 gainclone (2xLM1875 + 1xLM3886) circuits connected to a 450VA toroidal transformer. Initially I'd build one of the L/R channels, then the second then the bass, then put in enclosure. So far, so vanilla gainclone.

This is where the tomfoolery comes in. I would like multiple inputs, for 2 iphones, an ipad, tv, and xbox360 as well as the audigy and maybe a spare one, I don't want to have to unplug and replug cables when switching sources as I can often do this several times an hour. A switch to change them is more than tolerable, Is this possible without introducing massive detriment to the amp's quality? Should this be dealt with at the preamp, or maybe even before this?