Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th August 2003, 10:34 AM   #1
antomas is offline antomas  Europe
diyAudio Member

Default Yet another GC pcb...

This is my first post on this forum, so I firstly would like to say thanks to out landlords and to the people willing to share their wisdom here.

I designed a pcb for the original Thorsten Loesch's Gainclone circuit with ExpressPCB and I'd like to share it with everybody interested. I'm not an electronics engineer so I don't know how bad my design is . Any advice or suggestion is very very welcome.

The inspiration for my pcb comes from another post on diyaudio showing a mono power amplifier without volume control, built around a cheap Hammond (?) aluminium enclosure. The pcb doesn't need to be bolted to the enclosure, since the LM 3875, the input and the output connectors should keep it in place.

A few details:
- the .1" traces should be thick enough to allow 4 Amps;
- the placement of the input and output pads is provisional and it should be updated, depending on the choice of connectors available;
- I privileged the placement of the feedback resistor (R3) and of the 1uF decoupling cap (C5) over the placement of the reservoir capacitors (C3/C4), that are a bit far from the chip;
- I assume the resistors are BC 0.6W (like the ones sold by Digikey) except for R5, that should be a 3W (bigger) resistor; Eventually, on the pcb there's place to lay 4-5 BC resistors
in parallel;
- R3 is soldered between the "legs" of the LM3875;
- the 1uF capacitor (C5) could not fit the little space available on the pcb; in this case a smaller (.1uF ?) cap should be used;
- the reservoir caps are Panasonic FA/FC 2200uF, 50V;
- the "-G+" yellow box is a Weidmuller 3 poles connector (code 176050);