TDA7294 won't work - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th May 2011, 07:40 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default TDA7294 won't work

Hi everyone,
I'm new to the world of creating circuits, and this is my first project. It is an amplifier based on the TDA7294 IC that I built following the instructions and diagrams that I found on this site (click on the mono circuit picture to download all the infos). Basically I just printed the PCB, transferred it on the board with the "ironing" method and etched it with the ferric chloride. Then I drilled the necessary holes (with a 1mm drill) and soldered on the components as showed by the diagrams and the circuit's photo. The only issue I found was that the layout diagram did not match the photo, so I switched the C1 and C2 capacitators values to match the photo. To power-up the circuit I used an old computer PSU connecting two ground wires and the +-12V DC (with a declared output of 19A and 0,8A respectively). I hooked up a working speaker and connected a 3,5mm socket to the line in and used it to connect my ipod as a source. But, after turning on the PSU and the source, the circuit does not work at all. I double-checked the layout of components and the eventuality of dry-soldering but I was not able to figure out the problem. Thanks for whatever help you may give me, and sorry for the stupidity of my questions, but, as I said, I am a total newbie in this field.

Here are some pictures of the circuit I made, there I removed to IC to verify if it was malfunctioning, but, while desoldering it, few tracks ruined, so I made a new board on which I will solder the components following any suggestions you may give me.

P.S:Sorry for my bad grammar, I'm from Italy.
Old 28th May 2011, 11:24 PM   #2