LM1875 Speaker POP - NOT caused by switch (it seems) - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st May 2011, 11:11 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default LM1875 Speaker POP - NOT caused by switch (it seems)

Hi there, I'm new to the forum.

Dual Mono built lm1875
160va +-25V toroidal

I've been getting a speaker pop when switching the amp on, so I installed a delay circuit:
ePanorama.net - Audio amplifier output relay delay

Delay works, but there is still a loud pop once the relay engages. The relay circuit is placed in between the output of the amp and the connectors to the speakers.
There is also the pop when I manually connect the speakers, once the amp has stabilised.

Is this something wanting to discharge? I am new to building amps and would appreciate any advice.

Thanks

Peter
pkilfeather1@gmail.com
Old 1st May 2011, 11:56 PM   #2
johnr66 is offline johnr66  United States
diyAudio Member

Sounds like significant DC on the output. Measure the voltage DC across the output with no input signal and report back. Could be DC getting in to the inputs or a degraded output transistor. Do you have a schematic of your circuit?
Old 2nd May 2011, 12:03 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Unfortunately I don't - it is very similar to national semi's layout. Perhaps tomorrow I might draw it out.

I'm off to bed here (UK) but I'll get back to you tomorrow on the dc voltage.
What do you think might be causing this dc though?
Old 2nd May 2011, 11:01 AM   #4
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

get some sleep.
Do not connect a speaker.
Measure the output offset and report.
Old 2nd May 2011, 03:59 PM   #5
diyAudio Member