Trafo bad, or am I bad - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th April 2011, 01:31 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Trafo bad, or am I bad

Hey guys, I guess I could say I am a relative newbie to the world of electronics. I have soldered many audio kits with no issues and am running a couple right now. I seem to be having an issue with the following setup though:

I have the following 2 kits:

NE5532 Preamp Kit

TDA2030A 2.1 Kit, basically two single TDA2030A's for front left and right, and a pair of TDA2030A's "bridged?" for the subwoofer. Also has NE5532 active filtering for low pass for the subwoofer.

Powered by the following transformer:

24V W/center tap 1.5 Amp Transformer

With the above setup, it runs great except I feel that 1.5A transformer gets a little too warm because it doesn't have enough power (amps). So I decided to upgrade to this transformer:

Triad F-187U 28VCT 4 Amp Transformer

It was purchased by a well known and respected vendor, Steve @ Apex Jr. He is baffled that it doesn't work, says it is new but didn't get a chance to test it before shipping, since it was new. One of the supports was bent, and I clipped off the leads shorter to remove any tarnish in case of poor contact. It looks like it has seen some years on the shelf (maybe they all look like that, IDK), but other than that looks new, even came in original box. I trust Steve, he is an excellent guy to work with.