Trafo bad, or am I bad

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey guys, I guess I could say I am a relative newbie to the world of electronics. I have soldered many audio kits with no issues and am running a couple right now. I seem to be having an issue with the following setup though:

I have the following 2 kits:

NE5532 Preamp Kit

TDA2030A 2.1 Kit, basically two single TDA2030A's for front left and right, and a pair of TDA2030A's "bridged?" for the subwoofer. Also has NE5532 active filtering for low pass for the subwoofer.

Powered by the following transformer:

24V W/center tap 1.5 Amp Transformer

With the above setup, it runs great except I feel that 1.5A transformer gets a little too warm because it doesn't have enough power (amps). So I decided to upgrade to this transformer:

Triad F-187U 28VCT 4 Amp Transformer

It was purchased by a well known and respected vendor, Steve @ Apex Jr. He is baffled that it doesn't work, says it is new but didn't get a chance to test it before shipping, since it was new. One of the supports was bent, and I clipped off the leads shorter to remove any tarnish in case of poor contact. It looks like it has seen some years on the shelf (maybe they all look like that, IDK), but other than that looks new, even came in original box. I trust Steve, he is an excellent guy to work with.

For some reason, when I hook the new 4 Amp-28VCT trafo up, I get a lot of pops at about half the volume of the old 24VCT 1.5 Amp transformer. I can "just" hear it before it distorts. So I hooked the 1.5 Amp back up, runs great once again (I originally had it like that for almost a month with no issues whatsoever). Tried all of the above 3 times, same deal each time. I checked the newer one with a voltmeter, and with no load it reads around 30 VCT, 14.8 V per output. The older one reads 13.6V per output (27VCT ballpark).