Goal: Build a GC without killing myself! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th August 2003, 03:15 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Goal: Build a GC without killing myself!

OK, I've got my parts!

I am jumping in, thanks to the confidence-boosting help of many of you on the board. Muchas gracias, y'all. I am not a total newbie - I just built a CMoy headphone amp. But that is different - it is rather hard to kill oneself with a nine-volt battery, now isn't it? I suppose I could choke on it.

Anyway, I plan to ask what may sound like very dumb questions specific to my project, especially when being wrong could cause injury or deadness. I promise to search for generic stuff. But I want to be totally sure on the critical stuff, too.

The plan is to build the PSU first on a plank, then after successful testing, build an amp channel. No sense in making it easy - I wanna go P2P, with short-as-possible paths in the (LM3875TF) amp circuit. I think I have the chip-wiring puzzle worked out. (Inverted GC.) Pins 1 and 4 are pointing straight out for the caps and such. 3,7 and 8 are pointing down. That should keep me out of trouble. NFB has to cross 7 between 3 and 8, but that is about the only place I see a potential worry. NC pins are clipped.

After building the amp successfully (fingers appropriately crossed here), I plan to get a little creative on the enclosure. Heck, worst thing I can do there is lose a thumb to the table saw, right? I have two of those, anyway. My CMoy was built in a solid (butcherblock-style) chunk of red oak. That won't be feasible with the GC, but I have some ideas...