Noob: GC Potentiometers...which? where?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to the gainClone scene (meaning i'm trying to build my first one), and I was trying to figure out which potentiometer to get for my volume control. Unfortunately, I'm on a tight budget, or I'd buy everything and compare them myselves. What are the differences between stepped attenuators and POTs in sound?

And generally I find stepped-attenuators are not a particularly attractive option since they are so expensive, and I find the notches to be limiting. But if know of a cheap one w/ more than 12 steps, i'd me interested. (i know this has been asked before on the forums)

I've heard good things about the ALPS "blue" POTs, but these are using conductive plastics....I've heard that cermet type is the way to go?? but i really have no idea\experience. Any suggestions welcome.

I am also having trouble figuring out where to get these. I could only find the ALPS POTs at two places:
-Angela Intruments: www.angela.com
-World Audio Design

Notes:
I am making the non-inverted gainClone (positive feedback), so log tapered is preferred. I also want "dual-ganged" attenuation.

Thanks for any replies!

those "blue" alps pots are $32 each!!!! how tight is your budget?
i used radioshack 100k stereo pots for about $3 each, and i am very happy with the sound. mine is linear tapered and if you use a linear taper instead of log taper you'll have a lot of volume change in the last 1/4 turn or so. some people hate that but i have no problems with it.

the angela.com site also sells riken resistors. if they don't have a min order charge it might be a good idea to order from them :cool:

The gain factor

julester said:

I am making the non-inverted gainClone (positive feedback), so log tapered is preferred. I also want "dual-ganged" attenuation.