Meanwell SMPS and LM3886? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th November 2010, 05:44 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Meanwell SMPS and LM3886?

Not being that good with electronics, I'm having a bit of a time getting my head wrapped around this. I was thinking that I could use two of the Meanwell 24v 350w supplies to get the V- and V+ to power a pair of LM3886 based gainclones. One, would this be enough amperage for both LM3886 amps and two, can I actually get the V- and V+ from the two Meanwells SMPS? I am thinking yes on both counts but, my mind is mush at the moment and I'm not that good at this type of thing anyway. Thanks for the help.
Old 19th November 2010, 06:18 PM   #2
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

ask what short term peak or transient current the 350W units can provide at 24Vdc?

Each 3886 is specified as having a minimum peak current output of 7Apk.
A pair could demand 14Apk on fast transient signals.
The 3886 is also specified as having a typical peak output current of 11.5Apk. That comes to 23Apk for a pair.

I would expect a pair each with a short term output of ~350W to 550W to satisfy a two channel chipamp.
Old 19th November 2010, 06:39 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks Andrew. A pair of these is what I am looking at. http://www.meanwell.com/search/s-350/S-350-spec.pdf Protection looks to kick in at "105 ~ 135% rated output power" so I don't know if this will effect transients or not. The other thing is that I doubt that I will be pushing the LM3886 amps at their limit.
Old 19th November 2010, 07:03 PM   #4
diyAudio Member