Which kind of resistor?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,
I am a gain clone newbie, in the process of building my first gain clone.

This one will be a 3886 inverted design, I will make a 3875 based gain clone sometime in the future to compare.

I am hoping to build something on the higher end of the scale, and am willing to buy good parts for my gc, within reason, for example I will use Blackgate caps in it where required, probably use vampire RCA jacks and Cardas binding posts (from the group sale).

My question is on what type of resistors to use.

I have searched, and read posts (mostly by Peter) talking about Rikens and Caddocks.

I am actually thinking about buying 1Watt Rikens, Caddock TF020 and “nude” Vishays from Texas components. I would try each type in the series input and feedback resistors, and see which I like best. I guess they would all need a few days of burn in, I might do that prior to installation with a signal generator or a DC power supply.

Not the cheapest approach, will probably cost me around $70 plus shipping for these 12 resistors, and it will be a pain to try all of them out, but I don’t know of a better approach for picking out gc resistors.

Just wondering what you guys think of this, and what approaches people have used to determine what kind of resistors to use (other than trying them).

Also, have you guys played with resistor polarity? There is a thread here that talks about different resistor types, and about how the sound changed when a resistor was reversed
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=6760
I would not have thought about trying to reverse a resistor before reading this thread.

BTW, this forum is very helpful for newbie GC builders.

Thanks,
Randy

I've been swapping Rikens to Caddocks in feedback location, so I can send you 2 Rikens 220k, 0.5W. I wouldn't recommend 1W there, as its size is too big.