wowsers! Lots of different cables/wires in 1 gainclone! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th August 2010, 02:09 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default wowsers! Lots of different cables/wires in 1 gainclone!

Hi all

Iam preparing for my first diy gainclone project. What strikes me is that, although it seems everyone takes cables and wiring very seriously, I can't find good information on which cables/wires to use where. When i look at pictures of fixed gainclones, i see all sorts of wires and cable differences between different projects, and lots of different types of wires within one project. I have to say: iam a complete beginner, so maybe my question is too stupid, in that case forgive me. I have tried to come up with some sort of schematic of different components in a gainclone and the wires/cables between them (see picture).
You see cable 5e and 5i. iam not sure wether my transformers are gonna be intern (5i) or in an external casing (5e), hence the two types.
I would really appriciate your input on what kind of wires to use where (type/material/size). I probably forgot some too, pls let me know.
Eventually I would like to have/publish here a document/scheme for other newbee's like me to use when they are starting projects like this.

tnx a lot!

Erik
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cable-scheme-gainclone.jpg (79.0 KB, 458 views)
Old 18th August 2010, 03:29 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Being a value oriented kind of person, I use 23 gauge solid core copper or silver coated copper for signal wires, and 18 gauge stranded copper for speaker and short runs of power wire. For the longer connection between my power supply and amp, I used an IEC 320-C19/IEC 320-C20 cable with 14 gauge wire.
Old 19th August 2010, 11:46 AM   #3