will this transformer work -lm3875

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
I'm a newbie so bear with with my (naive) attempts to describe my findings.

i have this working transformer scavenged from a junked JVC receiver (which is spec'd at 210watts / 270VA power consumption from the chassis).

I hooked up the primaries to the mains and tried to measure the voltages across the secondaries (2 red, 2 blue, a white and a black)

the black seems to be at the lowest potential so i assume it is ground.

with respect to this, the other AC voltages are

the 2 reds measure at 35V each

one of the bue measures at 15V and the other at 10V

the white measures at 5V.

Q1. am i right in assuming that the 2 reds are the leads to use. If so, is this voltage too high. I read through this forum and a few sites on the www and people seem to indicate that 20 or so V is the max suggested. The product sheet for my chip (lm3875T) however tells me on page 3 that the recommended input voltage should be between 20 to 84V. from the same product sheet, i do also notice from a graph of clipping vs. supply voltage that there is less tolerance (headroom?) at higher voltages.

Q2. if i must operate at 20+V, is there a way i could perhaps take down the voltage, using a load resistor, or some kind of shunt mechanism.

Q3. alternatively, can i divide each secondary of 35V to 2 lines so i can essentially run 2 channels off each line,

thanks in advance:smash:

Attachments

• tranny.jpg
    tranny.jpg
    56.9 KB · Views: 292
interesting, .....

so this could actually provide me with a means to observe gainclone performance with varying operating voltage

i'm not dead in the water after all

could someone post a simple and suitable shunt regulator schematic. i googled upon this and came up with some very elaborate schemes, probably overkill for this purpose

thanks, vin