Gainclone Grounding and schematic comparisons...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

I have built a pair of LM3876 amps in one project, and am planning to build a smaller setup with a LM1876 instead for small 4" bookshelf speakers. I have seen multiple schematics for various different chip-amps and have a few questions.. I have some basic electronics background but am mostly left taught so need help at times..

I see a couple of conflicting schematics with regard to the feedback loop grounding. The NatSemi data sheet for example shows a 1K resistor in series with a 22uF non-polar capacitor then ground connected to the -Input on the IC. I have seen other asthmatics with just a 680 Ohm resistor and no capacitor. What will this change?
(for examples see here)
LM1876 Overview
DIYAudioprojects.com Beast

I know this has probably been explained several times before, but the star ground seems tricky. Is it easiest to just run a wire from every ground symbol to one point? If yes, should wires for some things be equal length?

Volume control Pots seem difficult to find balanced at lower volumes. I have tried a couple from Radio Shack (100k) and they are horrible (both in balance and sound quality) but easy to find. I tried linear 10K and it sounded very good but was as unbalanced (L/R) as the other. Lastly I gutted some dead PC speakers and settled for a tiny 10K Log pot for now. I think its an Alps but not sure. It sounds ok, but is balanced very well. I found the following and wondered if anyone had used it yet? Carbon Volume Potentiometers - Audio Taper for Volume Control - 10kohms | Diy HiFi Supply

I want to keep this as basic as I can. It will be driven primarily by a PC sound card so as long as that works I'll be happy.

Thanks all!!

the difference between the 1 k and the 680ohm versus the 20kohm resistor sets the amplifier gain.

google overture.xls