2*100 watt @ 4ohm TK2050 or LM3886 Gain Clone??

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
A transformer with 25V AC seconday outputs will give you 35V DC rails (25*1.41). It is an easy mistake to make.

U got me confused there :D

Well he's talking DC voltage... not the same thing to use when shopping for transformers. LOL
Most 8 ohm speakers are closer to 6 ohms minimum. So the transformer I linked to IS what you want.

ok thx for help guys, I'm a bit of a newb and this is just my second amp I've ever built! first one was lm1875 and I'm my self in grade 12 :) yes high schooler...

guys said that 10k would be better, is it right? or should i still go with 50 k?

thx for Potentiometer link and I dont really have to worry about heat sinks, I got box of them in school, we took apart over 10 PC's last year in my class :)

Last edited:
With the stepped your stuck with whatever the steps are and not in between.
For instance you may have a setting that is okay but a tad to loud but the next setting below that is not loud enough like on some tv sets with digital control volume.
Again it is a matter of prefernce,I like having full control over were I set the volume instead of a predefined step unless it was calibrated in say .25db or .1 db steps.

I wouldn't worry too much about using 50K as the real impedance is loaded down with the chip amps 22K input. Using a pot you don't have discrete steps so it's smoother in adjustments compared to a stepped switch.
On 2nd look the 21 stepped atten look cheapish ... not sure about the contacts wearing down with use and contaminants. Pots come with variable quality as well.

Yes ,infinia,I agree they don't look to be of very high quality and would probably start to fail after the first year or two .
Good decent quality selector switches that can handle being turned constanly don't come cheap.