diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Chip Amps (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/chip-amps/)
-   -   One PCB, one complete amp (lm3875) (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/chip-amps/163344-one-pcb-one-complete-amp-lm3875.html)

robertvalk 17th March 2010 06:25 PM

One PCB, one complete amp (lm3875)

In my quest for getting more familiar to PCB-making I would like to turn my "ugly" Gainclone into a more aesthetic appealing version.

What does that mean?
I would like to take relevant parts of my existing amp and put them on something nicer looking. Since I am new to etching PCB's I would like to fit everything! on a single side PCB. (just for practice) From rectifying the AC lines with a stabilized PSU to the output of the chips including loudspeaker protection. The maximum size of PCB I can get my hands on is 250mm*250mm, but I think that will be large enough.

My wishes;
AC from the outlet directly to the board
Fuses on the outlet's 220V on board
Rectification of the AC lines on the PCB
Stabilization on board
2 mono LM3875 chips on board
Single stereo audio input on board including simple volume control
Loudspeaker protection on board
And my "wet dream" would be to put the 100mm radius torroid in/on the board

Here is the part when you guys come in;

What are things I should or shouldn't do concerning the fabrication of my nicer version? Keeping certain parts far away from others, keeping other parts as close as possible? Etc.

As you can all read I am not a native English writer. Please correct my foul writing. I am not easily hurt :p

picowallspeaker 17th March 2010 08:00 PM

Well , to be true ,I'm not the man who has to tell exactly what to do.
My humble suggestion is to do quite the opposite of your nice proposals :p
Instead of a big PCB , make little (like the ones-even if they're double sided- made by chipamp or audiosector ),same for the PSU .