Complete newbie help. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd February 2010, 07:57 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Complete newbie help.

Hi,
i'm really interested in trying to build my own audio system.
Unfortunately as i'm just a teenager i don't have much cash to spend and i can only buy items off UK websites.

I have found this kit amp which seems cheep and cheerful, hopefully a good starting point.

200W Power Amplifier : Audio Amplifier Kits : Maplin
and the manufactureres website Velleman nv

is this a 2 channel or 1 channel amp?
How would i actually use this as part of a system?

EG, to run an ipod through it do i just attach the ipod to the input and a speaker on the output?
Will i need a preamp? if so will this be acceptable? Universal Stereo Pre-Amplifier : Audio Amplifier Kits : Maplin

As you can see it is a very tight budget from the parts i've listed.
Old 22nd February 2010, 08:40 PM   #2
tomchr is offline tomchr  United States
diyAudio Member

Don't underestimate being a teenager interested in electronics. I got my first soldering iron when I was in first grade because my dad was tired of me always using his... In my teens I built a fair amount of lab equipment (mainly power supplies) but also audio amps.

The Velleman kits are usually pretty decent. I can't vouch for the sound quality of a Velleman amp as I've never tried one. But I'd expect it to work if assembled according to the instructions.