Low Powered Car Amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd February 2010, 04:00 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Low Powered Car Amp

Sorry for the long post, this is my first time here so I'll give a bit of background and then on to my questions...

This is my first post over here at diyAudio, I've been creeping/poking around for a little while now and have been pretty active over at PE Tech-Talk for the last few years (same tag). I'm pretty good at wiring things up and have worked a a bunch of electro-mechanical projects in school (I've taken a few EE classes but graduated as an MechE).

I will eventually want to build a hefty home audio integrated chip amp using a PIC micro controller to control visual output and maybe source selection, etc, etc, but for now I'd like to start out small/simple and eventually when I get acclimated to the water move on to bigger and better(badder) things.

SO, actual question(s):

I'm looking at using a small(ish) tapped horn for subwoofer duties in my car that will have a sensitivity of 96 dB 1W/1m so I don't need a lot of power. I thought it would be really cool to have a really small packaged amp driving the speaker. I'm looking to get as close to 20 watts as possible into an 8 ohm load. It is my understanding that I can't get more than 25 watts into an 8 ohm load (assuming 14V) because of that whole P=V^2/R issue, is that correct, or is there something that can be about this with bridging/paralleling a chip amp since I only need one output. I would like to do without a SMPS since I'm still quite a novice in this game.

Summary:
1 channel
8 ohm load
20 Watts wanted
14 VDC power supply (alternator)

Any suggestions or am I going about this in the totally wrong way?

-JustinG