LME49811 Questions - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th February 2010, 06:10 AM   #1
db! is offline db!  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default LME49811 Questions

Hey guys,

I am planning a LME49811 build since I already have the IC and a few 120VCT toroids that I'd like to put to good use. These transformers should yield approximately 180VDC or +/- 90VDC; this is very close to the limit of LME at 200V. Since I have no experience in designing an output stage, I've been looking around the web and I stumbled upon this:

300/500W Subwoofer Power Amplifier

The diagram I am referring to is the second one down. Now for the big question; will it work properly without any extreme modifications/experimentation?

I plan to use a much higher voltage (+/- 90VDC) instead of the +/- 56v in the original circuit; are there going to be any problems? By running it at my intended voltage, would I be noticeably reducing the life of the transistors?

In case circuit above is not suitable, are there any other designs that are more ideally suited? I would prefer something that doesn't use Japanese/exotic transistors; it's hard to find genuine parts and they tend to go obsolete rather fast.

I apologize my questions seem trivial/stupid; this is quite a step up from my previous gainclone project (LM3875).

Any advice/info would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited by db!; 5th February 2010 at 06:12 AM.
Old 5th February 2010, 12:18 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

From Rod's site

"Do not even think about using supplies over 70V, and don't bother asking me if it is ok - it isn't!"

So don't! What you can consider though to reach higher power levels is to build two of those amplifiers and bridge them. But then you need a even lower power supply voltage.