New question about the TDA1562

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,
I'm a relative newbie with a wierd question. In looking at the available schematics for a 50-75 watt amplifier, using 12v, I have come across the plans using a TDA1562 chip by Philips. Looks interesting, but there is no volume control. Is it reasonable to expect to control the volume with the gain pot on a preamp? According to the layout drawing of the TDA1562 chip, it has a preamp already built in. So, can I run another preamp into that, and if so, what signal input voltages should I aim for? I have a preamp already designed, with treble/bass controls, and I can vary the input voltage by proper placement of resistors to control the gain. Will a variable output of 0 to 200 uV work? (0 -.2V)
Thanx
The Happy Hippy

Volume control is the thorn in the DIYers side. It seems simple but when you get into it there are so many signal-to-noise issues that need to be compromised.

For a generic rule, most power amplifiers will approach their rated output power at about 1Vrms signal input level. Note that this means peak signal can be 10V!

Assuming voltage transfer, most pre-amps have low output impedance and most amps have high input impedance. Thus with a pot in the 10-100Kohm (log) range, you can easily do a passive vol control with zero noise/dynamic range impact.

When you go balanced, stereo or bi-amp/tri-amp things get more complicated.

Please search on these key words and you will be rewarded with a treasure trove of knowledge. Post here with follow on questions.

good luck!

Preamp for TDA1532

OK The preamp is based on an OPA2132 from TI. (Dual version of the OPA132) It's basically a circuit with an inverting opamp, a baxandall tone control, and another inverting opamp. I'll be happy to send a copy of the schematic, if I can figure out how to do it and what format to send it in.