LM3886 PCB -New DIyer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hallow All

I am new DIYer and learned much from this forum. I am interested in making one LM3886 based chipamp to drive 8Ohm 3 way speakers they have own passive XO built in. My listening preference is Indian classical instrumentals at moderate volumes. For this purpose I feel 50 watt/ channel will be sufficient enough.

Set up in mind is
1. dual mono chip amps ( Non Inverted )
2. no preamp
3. 22k Ohm stereo pot at input
4. Audio source will be CD/VCD player

Amp Specifications are
1. transformer 24-0-24 Centre tapped, 300VA
2. 22k ohm linear pot at input
3. 1uF input capacitor
4. gain of 23 (1+R5/R3)
5. 2200uF capacitor (will they be too big?)

I have designed attached mono PCB in Eagle. Is this workable? Any suggestions / comments to improve ?

PS: I am not an engineer by training so many of the jargon is not understood

Thanks

Attachments

• PCB-3886.gif
    PCB-3886.gif
    32.1 KB · Views: 476
It will work of course!
But;
You may want to use more thicker traces for V+, V- and speaker outputs, if you consider; the main current flow will trace on this ways.
22uF is not enough for feedback line, use 47u or higher to hear deep basses..
1uF is also not enough for input, I would use 4.7u for this position.
You can use 20K instead of 22K for all positions. Since you will use a CD player then you will have 2v RMS input level which is more than ebough for that gain.
And use curved corners for all the traces, electrons don't like cornered wires...
This may help you to make it better;

Attachments

• 3886gcgc.JPG
    3886gcgc.JPG
    85 KB · Views: 457
Dxvideo is right about the corners but not why. I suspect there is a translation problem and he means that 45 degree angles are industry standard. Electrons don't give a damn about having to go 90 degrees. Stick with 90's and 45's nothing in between.