TDA2030 tone control - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th December 2009, 05:05 PM   #1
chingyg is offline chingyg  South Africa
diyAudio Member

Default TDA2030 tone control

Hey guys:

I am a newbie to audio so here is my stupid question

I am building a stereo power amplifier with TDA2030, in bridged mode, powered by a modified +-14V computer SMPS (i have completely modified the output line of the -12V line to allow it to sink a large amount of current)

the power amplifier's schematics is:
Click the image to open in full size.

however I would like to add a tone control to the amplifier too, and this is the circuit diagramtone control.jpg

Would it work if I connect my source (cellphone's output, abt 1V peak to peak, I think) to the tone control circuit and then to the input of the TDA2030 amplifier? would the signal be strong enough to drive the chip at full power or do I need a pre amplifier in front or after the tone control to compensate for the tone control's lost (-20dB is what the simulator tells me)

thank you
Old 5th December 2009, 05:26 PM   #2
Minion is offline Minion  Canada
diyAudio Member

Well a Passive tone controll is going to drop quite a bit of voltage so there will be losses , I would suggest maybe a Make up gain stage either before or after the tone curcuit (I would put a buffer at the front and a make up gain stage at the end) ......

Tone circuits like the one you posted pretty much sound best with the Pot at 10 or without frequncy attenuation so to get a more robust versitile tone controll I would suggest an active 3 band tone controll , there are even some very simple to use eq/Tone controll IC"s , I recently did a 5 band Graphic with a BA3812 that actually sounds pretty good .....

Good luck