Amplifier Repair

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I currently have 2 half working power amplifiers that I was wondering if somebody could help me with.

The first is a 500wRMS(2x250w) amplifier which I bought half working over a year ago. At the time the right channel worked fine but the left channel had a broken volume pot. After replacing the pot and cleaning the amplifier it worked fine and has done ever since. Suddenly last week the left channel again stopped working.

The channel will no longer let any signal through it, but there is just a hiss which gets louder as the volume pot is turned up. I have checked the soldering on the board and all appears to be fine there.

I am by no means an expert in amplifier operation or electronics but I am guessing that due to the fact the hiss gets louder as the volume is turned up the problem probably lies before the output stage. Is this correct?

After having read a number of things on the Internet I think the problem could be a dried up capacitor. Is this correct and if so how would I check for this?

Also are there any general things that people could suggest I check? Or that I should check in order to provide more information on the problem?

I will ask about the other amp later so as not to confuse the topic.

Thanks for your time.

Kind Regards

Dave

Warning: You could easily be killed, while working inside of equipment that is connected to the AC mains, and could even be killed if the equipment is not connected to anything.

If you have inspected everything, visually, with a magnifier, and can't see anything suspicious, you can try the following.

Since there are two channels, which should be almost identical but are not, a multimeter or volt-ohm meter might get you to the problem. (But even a cheap or very old oscilloscope would be extremely useful.)