dc volts

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to building amps so I hope some one can help. I'm building a LM3886 kit from chipamp.com and am getting 2mvdc from the psu. I thought it should be about 30vdc. I've rechecked the entire pcb and can't find the problem. Are there any suggestions. chipamp does not respond to my emails.
Thanks Mike

Thanks for the replies,
The transormer is wired correctly and there is the proper acv. when testing from v+ to v- there is the same acv. Is this the way it should be? I thought it should be dcv. I'll build a light bulb tester this weekend. I've been going over this psu for a week, even disassemled it and resolderd everything. Attached is a picture of the psu from chipamp.com. Mine looks the same.
Thanks Mike

Attachments

• snubber.jpg
    snubber.jpg
    80.7 KB · Views: 198
does the kit have two or one bridge rectifiers?

if one, than the secondaries hook up to that at ~ and ~ pins on the rect. the dcv is output at + and - pins of the rect. your center tap than goes to ground.

if two, than your transformer must have dual secondaries, thus each one (pair of wires) would connect to one of the rectifiers.

!!!!! if your + and - pins have acv on them, this means so do the capacitors, and they soon could explode on you.

if you could draw an mspaint diagram up real quick, showing how you connected transformer wires to the pcb.

edit i see it has diodes. still, we cannot tell what is going on until we can see how it is connected.

Thanks again,
there are two rectifiers. the pcb is clearly marked for the ac inputs, binding posts are soldered there as per instructions. the transformer has two pairs of secondaries. I have never used ms paint so attached is a jpeg of the boards. it is pretty straitforward as to where everything goes and polarity. The bands on the pcb for the diodes indicate metal side.

Attachments

• lm3886silkscreen.pdf