complete noob question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Been reading up alot lately and i looked at alot of various gainclone builds. one thing i noticed was the massive difference in size of various caps in different builds and kits. Peter Daniels gainclone kits are small and compact using small sized caps, but then theres something (this is a big difference tho) like the BPA300 where some use 4 huge RIFA 47000uF caps in the power supply.

Im just wondering, where do these big RIFA caps fit in in the PS schematic, because i havent really found one to look at and see. What is the purpose? to provide larger current which 6 lm3886 might need? What about on the smaller kits like Peter Daniels LM3875 kit, what would increasing cap values (and which caps) do? Forgive me for being a complete noob at this, faily new to it all

Also, does anyone know good places to get solid core copper/silver and silver coated copper wire in melbourne (various gauges)?

cheers

Yes, the large caps are to provide current for the amp. Also known as reservoir caps. Larger current demands (eg BPA300) usually result in larger capacitance values. Higher voltages result in larger capacitor sizes as well. Capacitance values can be considered to form a high-pass RC filter with the speaker load, resulting in loss of bass if too small a value is used. That said, smaller capacitances seem to improve mid and high range. As always, it's a trade-off.

I believe it is better to have the rectifier close to the transformer and the smoothing capacitors close to the rectifier.