Chip amps used in "push pull"

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to these chip amps. I have some experience with vacuum tubes. Maybe this is common and someone can point me to a schematic or two. I need about 100 watts of power. So I think why not use two chip amps working 180 out of phase, one amp drives the positive speaker lead wire the other drives the negative speaker wire. So, I'd run the input (if it's not already a "balanced" source from say, an XLR cable) to a phase inverter (or an audio coupling transformer) and then to two 50W amps.

What I'm looking to build is a bass guitar amp. I would build four of the above (eight chips total) and each push/pull pair would drive one 10 inch speaker in a four speaker cabinet.

What you mean here is a bridged amp, this already exist so its nothing new, you can get four times the power doing this but remember that the amps will see only half the speakers impedance.

If two amplifiers in bridge mode share a 4ohm load, each amp will see 2 ohms, or 4 ohms if its a 8 ohm speaker.

This is important to remember or you´ll blow up the amps, or atleast run them very hot which will eventually make them fail, and when they do they till also kill your speaker.

I suggest you check the bpa300 thread, its about a 300 watt bridge amplifier using i think six LM3886.

That BTL amp is a "Bridged" amp. I'm looking for "push/pull"

In a bridged amp you simply sum together several amps by wiring them in parallel.

In a push pull design one amp drives each speaker lead.

The difference is kind of like wiring the amps in series or in parallel.

Here is the simplest example of a push/pull design I can find.
http://www.drtube.com/schematics/hiwatt/hwpwr50w.gif