Help on TDA7560

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm new to DIY audio ...
I have a TDA7560 based amp as my 1st project,
I got some problem with it & would be very much grateful if anyone can help me.

TDA7560 datasheet shows
http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/25157/STMICROELECTRONICS/TDA7384.html

ABSOLUTE MAXIMUM RATINGS
Vcc ------------Operating Supply Voltage------------18 V
Vcc(dc)---------DC Supply Voltage-------------------28 V
So, what's the maximum dc voltage(from a rectifier) I can apply to the ckt??
If it is 28v what's the significance of the max 18v?
(can I get a relation between the two?)

(It is given)
FEATURES:
4*50W/4 ohm Max
4*30W/4 ohm @ 14.4V,1khz,10%
Is the above mentioned 14.4V Vcc or Vcc(dc)??

I need to power a pair of fullrange speaker of 40W nominal each,
so, what should be the ideal power of the amp & the i/p dc volt to the ckt??
:)

You should design the power supply for a maximum of 18 V nominal. 28 V is the no-load voltage your power supply should not surpass, i. e. (nominal transformer voltage + mains fluctuation + transformer regulation) * 1,41.

The 14,4 V would be Vcc.

There is no ideal voltage, as long as you remain within the specified range. A 12 V transformer with 15 A or more should be just right to remain below the 28 V limit unloaded and bring you into the specified 13,2 to 14,4 V range when loaded.

This chip is designed for single supply (eg, automotive audio). There are much better chips for a pair of speakers if you plan on using them in a non-mobile environment.

Also, the datasheet you linked to is incorrect. The correct link would be:
http://www.datasheetcatalog.com/datasheets_pdf/T/D/A/7/TDA7560.shtml

According to the datasheet, it can handle 8V p-p input, although there is no more info on whether that is the level required to get maximum output.