Simple pre-amp for gainclone help req'd.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi I am a noob of sorts, and I wanted to share my project to see if I can avoid any stupid pitfalls...

I have ordered a LM3875 chip-amp kit from audiosector. I have 6 Ohm Tannoy dual concentric 91dB speakers so I will get a 20v 300VAC transformer for dual mono build.

That much I think is fairly straightforward.

What I want to do is build a 400mm w. x 250mm d. x 100mm h. wooden case for a stereo that includes the power amp, a DACT type stepped attenuator (from eBay Hong Kong), my DAC PCBs (Beresford) and transformer, my airport express (uncased, with an external aerial) and a 7 input selector switch that switches between wi-fi, coax 1, coax 2, optical, analogue 1, analogue 2 & Phono (which I'll make or fit a pre-amp for later).

My issue is that I want to make the simplest form of pre-amp for the chip-amp...basically an attenuator for volume and a selector switch that switches between the digital inputs of the DAC and 3x analogue inputs. Can anybody suggest the value of that attenuator, and if the pre-amp needs to do anything else, other than a simple switch. Are the voltage levels correct to go from source straight into the power amp via the attenuator, for example?

Many thanks in advance
Lucas

Hi,
use a buffer, gain=1times (+0dB), immediately after the attenuator.

Your Tannoys, 91dB, will require less than 1Vac signal to sound quite loud.
If the chipamp has 28times gain (+28dB) you will need a lot of attenuation between 2Vac digital sources and the chipamp.
You will need a bit less attenuation for 300mVac sources eg FM tuner.

There is no need for any gain in the pre-amp.

if you decide to use a passive pre-amp then choose a 10k attenuator, but ensure all your sources can drive a 10k load + cable capacitance adequately.

If you use a buffer you can choose any attenuator from 10k to 100k.