diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Chip Amps (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/chip-amps/)
-   -   Chip Amp General Question (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/chip-amps/136536-chip-amp-general-question.html)

bluetech 14th January 2009 03:34 PM

Chip Amp General Question

Hi, I'm new to electronic design and I'm working on a USB DAC project.

I'm thinking of adding a power stage to this project but I don't have any experience in Audio Power Amps and not much time to spend.

If I take a Chip Amp (LM4780 for example) and connect it as per data sheet, is it gonna be ok? I'm not interested in extremely high quality.

Is the LM4780 an easy IC for a newbie? If not, which one do you suggest?

Thank you very much

AndrewT 14th January 2009 04:01 PM

Hi,
the 4780 is a two channel chipamp.
I think the single channel version 3886 is likely to perform better. It can certainly be kept cooler due to using two surfaces to dissipate the internally generated heat.

bluetech 14th January 2009 04:16 PM

I need a stereo one.

Are you suggesting to use two monos instead of a stereo?

MJL21193 14th January 2009 04:21 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by bluetech
I need a stereo one.

Are you suggesting to use two monos instead of a stereo?

Hi,
Unless you are cramped for space in the chassis, it would be better to use 2 LM3886 instead of a single (stereo) LM4780 as the two chips will dissipate heat more effectively than the single unit.
What voltage will you run this at?

bluetech 14th January 2009 04:33 PM

I don't know yet. I guess something like -/+ 24 or 27 or something similar

I found on the data sheet a single-supply circuit. Is that recomended?

AndrewT 14th January 2009 04:58 PM

Hi,
your low supply voltage of <=+-27Vdc is normally used for 4ohm speakers.
If you require best quality, use high efficiency 8ohm speakers preferably >=95dB/W/m (real watts in to an 8ohm load).

chatziva 14th January 2009 07:12 PM

Bluetech,