gainclone cap options

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new. Sorry about that.

So I've ordered the gainclone pcb set from audiosector.com. I've bought some lovely tantalum and riken resistors. Kind of stuck for the caps though.

Any thoughts?? I don't want to use the panny ones, and am having trouble finding ones that look appropriate. I'm not too good at the maths needed so I don't know what the lee-way is from 1500pico farads and 50v.

Any thoughts? What are the min and max specifications for the big and little caps there?

again, sorry for my ignorance. I searched the forum for a pre-existing answer but it's narry impossible to wade through a forum this deep. Every thread seems to have 600 replies!

raypalmer said:
I'm new. Sorry about that.

So I've ordered the gainclone pcb set from audiosector.com. I've bought some lovely tantalum and riken resistors. Kind of stuck for the caps though.

Any thoughts?? I don't want to use the panny ones, and am having trouble finding ones that look appropriate. I'm not too good at the maths needed so I don't know what the lee-way is from 1500pico farads and 50v.

Any thoughts? What are the min and max specifications for the big and little caps there?

again, sorry for my ignorance. I searched the forum for a pre-existing answer but it's narry impossible to wade through a forum this deep. Every thread seems to have 600 replies!

Problem: The low component count amplifier is highly reliant on component selection for its performance.

So, because you'll want a baseline, you'll need exactly the recommended components, including resistors, caps, transformer, wire, etc. . . because it is necessary to have a place to start in order to get anywhere.

And, after experiencing that baseline, then you can change it however you like.
The documented baseline is necessary, otherwise one could get quite lost.