Intrest Check: 120w @ 8ohm Tube Buffered LM3875 Amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Also the BOM specs for the chip PSU say 200-500VA. Other than the cost what would be the advantage and disadvantage to the two extremes. Also the rating "VA", does that not mean "amp volts" would that not be the same as watts?

Sorry for the beginner questions, I'm not an electrical engineer, my only saving grace is that I'm a very talented carpenter with access to exotic woods, metals and plastics and the tools required to turn them in to amazing enclosures, cases and cabinets. So my cases will look stellar , to bad I'm not sure of what is going to happen inside.

Those are the ones I speced for mine. I am just a noob myself but I do know my way around a soldering iron and this seems like a very straight forward build. The nice thing is there are no adjustments or other fidly stuff to do. I am adding a pot and a switch and making a nice setup for my office at work.
As far as the VA, I cannot put it into technical terms but I think of it terms of what I am going to do with it. I know I want enough power in reserve so as not to push it, but I am not going to be playing it loud and am driving a moderately efficient speaker so the middle of the rating range seemed good to me. There is also a good sized cap in the PS.
Hope I did not add to the confusion.

I'm a noob too as far as these projects go, but I'm a senior in EE so there are some things that i do know.