kit differences: chipamp.com vs audiosector.com

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
ok so I'm putting together my first (real) speaker setup, and it has to be on a budget (the amp I mean, preferably $200) cause I'm a brokeass college student. I have a source and I bought a pair of the Insignia bookshelves for the speakers. I've abandoned the 41Hz route after reading a few too many bad things about support and problems with getting them to work, which I don't want to deal with, so I've decided to go with a gainclone kit from either chipamp.com or audiosector.com. I know BrianGT runs chipamp.com and Peter Daniel runs audiosector, but why do the sites look so similar? Anyway, a few questions about the amps...

1. Does a snubberized PS make a real (as in verified with A/B testing) audible difference?
2. If so, would it be worth it to get the PS kit from chipamp.com and the amp kit from audiosector?
3. Does dual mono make an audible difference from stereo?
4. Does the premium option make an audible difference on the audiosector kits?
5. Do the full chipamp.com kits come with the snubberized PS? Because the site says "basic power supply components"
6. Are stereo kits available from audiosector?
7. Will a Millett Max (a hybrid headphone amp) make a good preamp for a gainclone?

I bought parts from Audiosector and Chipamp before the former the service is very good no matter how much you buy, the latter sometimes I receive no response makes you feel you are send messages to a black hole, eventhough I receive the parts I paid for.

I found Audiosector recommendations to be very good, I use their premium parts for the 3875 chipamp, they were spot on. The sound is very good, better than the parts I used in 3886 chipamp, and hence the 3875 sounds better. I fully recommend Audiosector. The parts are not cheap, if you building using minimal parts it is worthwhile.

Cheers Happy building.