kit differences: chipamp.com vs audiosector.com - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st October 2008, 04:49 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default kit differences: chipamp.com vs audiosector.com

ok so I'm putting together my first (real) speaker setup, and it has to be on a budget (the amp I mean, preferably $200) cause I'm a brokeass college student. I have a source and I bought a pair of the Insignia bookshelves for the speakers. I've abandoned the 41Hz route after reading a few too many bad things about support and problems with getting them to work, which I don't want to deal with, so I've decided to go with a gainclone kit from either chipamp.com or audiosector.com. I know BrianGT runs chipamp.com and Peter Daniel runs audiosector, but why do the sites look so similar? Anyway, a few questions about the amps...

1. Does a snubberized PS make a real (as in verified with A/B testing) audible difference?
2. If so, would it be worth it to get the PS kit from chipamp.com and the amp kit from audiosector?
3. Does dual mono make an audible difference from stereo?
4. Does the premium option make an audible difference on the audiosector kits?
5. Do the full chipamp.com kits come with the snubberized PS? Because the site says "basic power supply components"
6. Are stereo kits available from audiosector?
7. Will a Millett Max (a hybrid headphone amp) make a good preamp for a gainclone?
Old 31st October 2008, 05:43 AM   #2
ttan98 is offline ttan98  Australia
diyAudio Member

I bought parts from Audiosector and Chipamp before the former the service is very good no matter how much you buy, the latter sometimes I receive no response makes you feel you are send messages to a black hole, eventhough I receive the parts I paid for.