Car audio LM3886 + SMPS on single sided board

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hi all, thanks for the update rwaudio, checked the link..well how can I missed that one?..I'm a regular visitor of ESP..not an EE though-have major difficulties understanding things :bawling: , but really loves DIY & audio. I'll try to have 4x50w LM3886-car for a start..wish me luck

AndrewT or anyone who's implimented a differential input could you give me a little help with my differential input? Basically I only get good operation when I connect the rca shield directly to signal ground. Using a cap/resistor (tried many values of each) gave increased noise, though slightly better than nothing connected.

As you can tell I'm new to using a differential input, attached is a simple version of what I have on the breadboard right now. Power supply is taken from the output of the amps smps and regulated to +/- 15v.

It's pretty good at rejecting noise from a very crappy bench power supply (completely unusable using normal input buffer, and very listenable with slight noise using the differential input) and it's pretty much silent using my regulated bench supply, however I'm assuming that some cars "could" be more like the noisy bench supply.

I'm also not sure how to impliment a dc blocking cap on the input, if it's as simple as putting a large enough film cap on the signal line before the 22k resistor.

Attachments

• amp input schematic.jpg
    amp input schematic.jpg
    30.6 KB · Views: 1,386