Push pull BPA - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th October 2008, 08:17 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Push pull BPA

I'm looking to build an amp (preferably a gainclone) with power up in the 400w (4 ohm) range. This will be used to drive my subs (currently 2 10" 300w rms each in a horn loaded 4th order bandpass aka "Wicked One" design by Decware) I've been driving this box for 3 years now with an audiosource amp one/a a 4ohms. I love the box, but the amp just doesn't cut the mustard for my theater room.

I've done searching and found a couple of designs that use Bridge parallel setups but not with the output I'm looking for.

I was wondering about useing 2 banks of either (2) 4780's (4 total) or 4 3886's (8 total) in a push pull. I know it's alot of work, but I'm sure someone here has done it and has a schematic.

I prefer the simpler the better and with as little in the signal path as possible, but beggars can't be choosers

I had seen one site with a BPA300 using 6 3886's, but he had them in inverting configuration because it was easier to adjust individual DC offset. Does someone have a solid design that uses non-inverting configuration but still able to control individual DC offset?

Thanks for all the help, hopefully I can contribute something back in the future.
Old 4th October 2008, 10:33 AM   #2
CJ900RR is offline CJ900RR  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Why do you want to control the offset of each LM? My design, a mixture of BPA200 and Shine7's BPA300 uses 3 LM3886/board, made for easy bridging of two boards, and it uses op-amps as recommended by National to control the dc-offset. Works like a charm.

But as I said it uses only 3 LM/board, bridging would give you somewhat like 325W into 4R, depending on powersupply.