diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Chip Amps (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/chip-amps/)
-   -   T-amps such as SI Sure, Charlize etc... in context of "traditional" solid state? (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/chip-amps/127967-t-amps-such-si-sure-charlize-etc-context-traditional-solid-state.html)

doogyscoot 11th August 2008 05:54 PM

T-amps such as SI Sure, Charlize etc... in context of "traditional" solid state?

Hey, I'm quite new to the T-amp thing, late on the wagon I know, but I fear I am being converted. Just out of interest though.
If you were asked to compare on a price level what you would expect to spend on a solid state "conventional" amp such as those produced by NAD, Marantz, Cambridge audio etc, where would you say we sit?
I know this requires a lot of generalisation so please save yourself the bother of telling me that it's not as simple as making general equivalents due to the various factors. But say a complete newcomer to T-amps was to ask how much he'd have to spend to get comparable performance from an off the shelf model from the likes of the aforementioned to one of the above T-amps with a good PSU and the usual cap mods etc, what would you say? Obviously assuming he doesn't require a lot of power.
I'll start the betting at about 300 ($600) ;)

Nuuk 11th August 2008 06:13 PM

Assessing the quality of hi-fi according to what it costs is meaningless!

If you fancy a T-Amp, buy one and then compare it to what else you have heard and you will have your own answer, for what it is worth. ;)

Puffin 11th August 2008 06:36 PM

You can love a 30 T-Amp and you can love a 5,000 valve amp. It's horses for courses and how much you feel you are justified in spending to get the sound you want.

doogyscoot 11th August 2008 07:31 PM

:rolleyes: