Starting a student project, need some input (chip amp + speaker set) - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th August 2008, 11:43 PM   #1
Sneasle is offline Sneasle  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Sneasle Send a message via MSN to Sneasle Send a message via Yahoo to Sneasle
Default Starting a student project, need some input (chip amp + speaker set)

Hi guys. I'm new here and come seeking some wisdom. I am an EE student at Auburn University and our campus IEEE group is looking to start an EE project to teach students more about designing a circuit and then constructing the circuit.

Most of what we get is classes is all "book smarts", so the goal of this is to try and give people some practical knowledge about designing, building, and testing a circuit.

I have had a little experience with amps in the past (I did a bit with tube amps in high school, and built a chip amp based off of a Phillips IC, I don't remember the name anymore) so i suggested building a chip amp as it would be a simple enough project that people could actually use and enjoy. The idea was taken to pretty quickly so now we are doing some reading to try and figure out exactly what we want to do.

We will not start this up until spring semmester, but we want to go ahead and plan out the project and build a few of these amps so that those of us in charge are familiar with the design and will be able to answer questions about it.