Power Supply for 5 channel Gainclone

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm looking to build a 5 channel Gainclone based on the LM3875. I'm hoping to get at least 30-40W per channel into 8ohms. Id like to stuff all this and the power supply into an old Carver M1.0T Chassis (may it rest in peace :goodbad: ). Since I have no experience with power supply design (or much else for that matter) I could use a little help. I was considering using a single 750VA Plitron for the transformer, with either 25 or 30V secondaries (I think this would be in spec for the LM3875). I've also got a fistfull of parts from the old Amp I could reuse (if possible) including:

2 Nichicon 6800uF 110V Caps
2 Rubycon 3300uF 63V Caps
2 Rubycon 3300uF 35V Caps
2 Good Sized Heatsinks
1 Transformer (120V primary, +/- 60V secondary also with 2 120V secondaries)

I'm not sure whether this Transformer would be suited to the project or not but it would save me $100 bucks on the Torroid.

Any help with a PS for this project would be greatly appreciated!

:)

Gcollier said:
I'm looking to build a 5 channel Gainclone based on the LM3875. I'm hoping to get at least 30-40W per channel into 8ohms. Id like to stuff all this and the power supply into an old Carver M1.0T Chassis (may it rest in peace :goodbad: ). Since I have no experience with power supply design (or much else for that matter) I could use a little help. I was considering using a single 750VA Plitron for the transformer, with either 25 or 30V secondaries (I think this would be in spec for the LM3875). I've also got a fistfull of parts from the old Amp I could reuse (if possible) including:

2 Nichicon 6800uF 110V Caps
2 Rubycon 3300uF 63V Caps
2 Rubycon 3300uF 35V Caps
2 Good Sized Heatsinks
1 Transformer (120V primary, +/- 60V secondary also with 2 120V secondaries)