Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd March 2003, 05:22 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Power Supply for 5 channel Gainclone

I'm looking to build a 5 channel Gainclone based on the LM3875. I'm hoping to get at least 30-40W per channel into 8ohms. Id like to stuff all this and the power supply into an old Carver M1.0T Chassis (may it rest in peace ). Since I have no experience with power supply design (or much else for that matter) I could use a little help. I was considering using a single 750VA Plitron for the transformer, with either 25 or 30V secondaries (I think this would be in spec for the LM3875). I've also got a fistfull of parts from the old Amp I could reuse (if possible) including:

2 Nichicon 6800uF 110V Caps
2 Rubycon 3300uF 63V Caps
2 Rubycon 3300uF 35V Caps
2 Good Sized Heatsinks
1 Transformer (120V primary, +/- 60V secondary also with 2 120V secondaries)

I'm not sure whether this Transformer would be suited to the project or not but it would save me $100 bucks on the Torroid.

Any help with a PS for this project would be greatly appreciated!

Old 25th March 2003, 06:16 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default Research needed

Not a quick answer: may have to trawl through the thread
This is not just another gainclone

Research tip:
Down the bottom
"show printable version"

Up top:
"Show all xx posts from this thread on one page"

Then Find . . .
Old 25th March 2003, 06:20 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Transformer: How large?
Old 25th March 2003, 08:53 AM   #4
UrSv is offline UrSv  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Power Supply for 5 channel Gainclone

Quote:
Originally posted by Gcollier