TEA2025 alternatives - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th July 2008, 12:20 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default TEA2025 alternatives

I have a little 'learning' project on the go and need some help finding possible upgrades for the TEA2025 chip.

Click the image to open in full size.

Details:

I will be using a amp module which ive salvaged from a pair of old PC speakers. This will be rehoused in a good chassis and powered from a better supply. (15VA Tx and 4700 Pana fc smotthing cap) I'll also be playing with caps to try and improve the sound. Details here:

Ive been searching for compatible chips as a possible upgrade but im a novice so Im having trouble finding one.

Can anyone help?
Old 26th July 2008, 02:51 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to DigitalJunkie
I'm not aware of any pin-compatable chips.
I've played with some PC-speaker amps before,for use as headphone amps. I would suggest using better caps,and perhaps upgrading the PSU a bit. Regulation might be good,it seemed to help a bit on my experiments.

It's never going to be "hi-fi" but you can tweak them to get a little better performance.
Old 26th July 2008, 11:33 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Cheers, I thought as much.

Ive ordered a chassis and 15VA 9v Toroid, and some caps to play with: Tant beads, Nichion Muse, Rubycon ZA's, and a pair of 1uf MKP's to try on the chip input. Hopefully Theres no DC on the output then I can remove the decoupling caps. I'll be bypassing the tone control and removing the swith on the left which is '3D Surround' so the signal path is a bit clearer.

Im hoping that the Adding the Tx and a 4700uf Pana FC will improve things considerably as the amp is currently driving 88db 8ohm speakers so the added headroom should be good.